Discover Crows Nest          Search       Email us  

Haden

Formerly named Wahoon.

Location

Haden 4353Map is 45 km north of Toowoomba

The Haden district was first settled one-hundred and twenty-five years ago. As the early pioneers opened their selections, the need for schools, churches, halls and railway was soon apparent. Haden township was a thriving centre in the early 1900s, with 2 pubs, 3 grocer shops, butcher shop, Queensland National Bank - and a racecourse. Haden State School was officially opened on May 20, 1912, and first known as Wahoon State School.

Name

Named after Alice Elizabeth Ruth Paget (née Haden).

Originally a railway station name first used from June 1912. Alice was the second wife of Walter Trueman Paget (1854-1930) farmer and politician, Secretary for Railways 1908-15. Previously known as Wahoon, aboriginal for scrub turkey.

Wahoon is the aboriginal name for the Australian Brush-turkey. Scrub turkeys were common in the dense vine scrub of that time. Very little of the scrub remains, but a monument to the turkey was erected in 2002.

Top